Home > Shocktober > Shocktober #31 – Midnight Shock Rock Opera

Shocktober #31 – Midnight Shock Rock Opera

For the final film of the shocktober marathon, I would like to introduce and old favorite and a new favorite. Both of these films have great music and surprising casts. I can see myself watching these for the rest of my life. The first is one I have been watching for the past year and I got to go to the Chicago premiere. The latter is an old musical favorite that I have watched pretty much my whole life. So, in advance, thanks for reading this month and stay tuned for more reviews of the new and old happenings in hollywood film in the near future. Stay updated by being my friend on facebook or following my twitter!

 

RepoGeneticOperaOfficialPoster

Repo Poster

Repo! The Genetic Opera
Release Date: 2008
Starring:
Director: Darren Lynn Bousman
Rated R

 

Seventeen and you can’t stop me! Seventeen and you won’t boss me! You cannot control me father! Daddy’s girl’s a fucking monster! -Shilo

 

If you know me personally you have probably heard of this opera. Masterfully done, this epic is a Shakespearean style storyline that deals with death, disease, and deception. Set in the future, an epidemic of organ failure has plagued the world with death. The only way to fix the diseased is to offer manufactured organs to the public and offer financing options on all types of surgery. The only problem is that you have ninety days of liquid before you get your Repo treatment. Geneco, the main corporation offering the organ financing, has Repo agents in the field that will repossess your vital organs. The repo men are feared by all including Geneco as what they do is protected by the government.

IMAGE_025

Me(left), Terrence Zdunich(center),Darren Lynn Bousman(right)

Lionsgate was so afraid of this movie that it was not released theatrically nationwide. No, writer Terrence Zdunich and director Darren Lynn Bousman, had to take this show on tour to major cities for “One Night Only” shows at small theaters. Thankfully, Chicago had a following of Repo lovers and I was able to see this version in the theater. After the show, Darren and Terrence were able to have a Q&A where a lot of questions were answered about the release and production. So, give this one a chance. It is extremely different and nothing I have ever seen before. An amazing story, extraordinary musical score, and drama that keeps you on your toes.

 

 

The_Rocky_Horror_Picture_Show

Rocky Horror Picture Show Poster

Rocky Horror Picture Show
Release Date:1975
Starring: Tim Curry, Susan Surandon, Meatloaf
Director:Jim Sharman

 

Frank-n-Furter it’s all over. Your mission is a failure, your lifestyle’s too extreme. I’m your new commander. You are now my prisoner. We return to Transylvania. Prepare the transit beam. -Riff Raff

 

Rocky Horror is a movie I watch on Halloween every year. Another great musical, with a suprising cast of characters, it is about Brad and Janet. This cute couple who recently engaged were on their way to share their news of the engagement with their college Professor. On the way, they get a flat tire and they result to going to the nearest castle to try and call for help. They are in for a night they will never forget.

 

Filled with sex, drugs, rock ‘n roll, and science, Rocky Horror is synonymous with the midnight movie. Being the first obscure musical with subject matter that was not in the popular consensus, this movie struggled to be a hit. Although it was tough one to get made, it was an instant hit in the major cities and a movie I will cherish throughout the rest of my life.

 

 

Something old, something new, two movies I thought would close out this Halloween season well. I hope you all enjoyed this marathon as much as I did. I was able to revisit old movies that I haven’t seen in a long time and I was able to showcase a couple new movies of similar genres. Stay tuned for a special movie post for “Dios de los muertos” this Sunday, November 1.

 

Categories: Shocktober
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

